Loch Ness Monster Munchies? I’m Gobsmacked!

February 15, 2010 at 5:04 pm Leave a comment

I was looking for a piece on the web that I listened to this morning on WGBH (Boston’s NPR), and I came across this bit on Nelly, the Loch Ness Monster, for Nova (cut & pasted here, but the link will take you to the audio too):

Right, I’m driving along the Loch side, glancing out of the window. You can see the rock formation, I was just down on the road there, it just rises. I saw this boiling in the water. I thought, “No, it can’t be anything,” and I carried on a wee bit. Then I looked again, and I saw three black humps. I mean, you know, there’s the chance, I’ve seen something in the water. But what is it?

So I’m gobsmacked, I’m looking out the window, I just didn’t know what it was. Then the people came behind me, and they obviously wanted me to move. But I didn’t want to lose sight of this thing. So I just pulled over to the side, grabbed my camera, and I thought I was being very cool and very nonchalant and took two or three photos. In fact, as I say, I had taken nine or ten, without realizing, I just punched the button. It was just a pity it was a small camera.

NOVA: Did anybody else see anything?

WHITE: Yeah, the other two people who were there—I was just so excited I didn’t get their name and address or anything—they saw it exactly the same as me. Because the wee wifey, who would have been a lady in her fifties, on holiday, she was Scottish, she said to me, “I’ve not been in the bar this morning!” And her husband said, “Ach, it’s an eel! It’s an eel!” And I said, “There’s no eels that big!” And he said, “Ach, it’s otters!” And I said, “You don’t get otters swimming out like that!”

I saw what I saw, and I’m not going to be dissuaded. It wasn’t just an imagination. I’m a sane guy, and I’ve got no ax to grind. As I say I sell pet food! What use to me is the Loch Ness monster? Unless I can invent a food called, I don’t know, Monster Munchies perhaps?

Hee hee.  Monster Munchies, they’re Gobsmacking Good!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Looking for a Holistic Vet Separated at Birth?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Fetch Portland Photo Gallery

image

Spencer's puppy wrinkles made us all swoon! #dogsofinstagram #puppylove #puppies #portland #maine #thefishandbone

At just 9 weeks old, Spencer fits under our shelves! He got cozy in a moose @fabdoginc sweater and we got cozy with puppy snuggles :heart_eyes: #dogsofinstagram #portland #maine #thefishandbone #puppylove #cozy #fabdog

More Photos

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Past Posts

Archived Posts

Twitter Feed


