Update from Boston

October 13, 2009 at 12:47 pm Leave a comment

Telecommuting is a great concept but in practice it takes some getting used to.  I’ve got a 30 minute timer set continuously throughout the day to help stay on track, or switch from one track to another.  Just realized how long it’s been without a post.  Zip and I have been on the move since October 1, first in Chicago and now in Boston.  Actually, the burbs of Boston.  We’re staying with family while we get resettled.

We’ve discovered that ticks are alive and well here.  After not finding a single tick on Zip for 3 years, I pulled about 12 off both of us the other day.  Yes, we were in the woods, but on well-worn paths literally right off the street we’re living on.  Weighing the pros and cons of going chemical with him; it’s not just Lyme I’m concerned about, but other tick-borne diseases.  And as we’re staying with family, in a house with kids, I have to take responsibility for what Zip and I bring into the house.  If it were just Zip and me, I would trust that I could monitor the situation and handle the consequences.

Meantime, sharing has been great for Zip.  His cousin Ajax, a big Portuguese Water Dog with a goofy personality, helps define the hierarchy and it has put Zip at ease.  No aggression, even with a visiting puppy.  More to learn here and I’m looking forward to it.

Both dogs by the way are on Honest Kitchen Preference, and though it’s not new for Zip, it is for Ajax.  Word is that he’s normally indifferent to food.  I don’t know if having another dog in the house has increased his interest in eating, but I can say for sure that he cleans up, and my sister’s very happy.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Rabies Challenge Fund Wysong Mold Recall

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Fetch Portland Photo Gallery

Tweets

Past Posts

Archived Posts

Twitter Feed


