If I had $4 Million Dollars….

February 13, 2009 at 5:43 pm 3 comments

I’ve been kind of mystified lately imagining how it could be that my little indie business Fetch could be confused with the venture capital-backed corporation down the road.  It’s all about the name.  Their name is similar to Fetch, but with another word tacked on the end.  They are also in the pet industry, and have their HQ in Portland (but ship out of a warehouse in the midwest).  That’s where the similarities end, as far as I can tell.  I run a brick & mortar store, they run an ecommerce site and a catalog.  I started Fetch with credit cards, Downtown Portland Corporation loan, and an itch to learn about pet nutrition, and to get a dog and be able to take him to work every day.  Fetch, with millions in venture capital??  Hee hee!  I half want to let people believe that I’ve really, really fanned the spark of my little enterprise into a $4M in venture-capital-powered corporation, but it’s better if we know which is which.  So no, we don’t have $4M in vc!  But if we did?  Imagine what we could do to improve the Q of L for animals and pet lovers in our community.  Well that’s the basis of our $4M Idea Contest…help us spend our ‘virtual $4M in VC’…the best idea wins a year’s supply of our featured dog or cat food of the month, and runner up gets a year of free dog washes in our soon-to-open self-serve dog wash.  See contest rules for more info.

Entry filed under: animal & human relationships, animal health, Animal Welfare, event, portland business community, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Wysong-Nestle Patent Battle Anyone need ANOTHER reason not to buy cheap brands of pet treats/foods?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ted Regan  |  February 18, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    You know I really can’t wrap my brain around why they (catalogue folks) did that and I loathe small town conflict BUT I gotta say I love, love the way your handling it. Your note is just curious enough, just sassy enough and a little bit toothy- a great balance of venting and poking but also a story turning lemons into lemonade.

    Kathy you rock, keep up the good work and the noble approach to things that go bump in the night.

    BTW your new dog wash idea is such GREAT news as an urbanite. Given all that you do and have done its time you did get a little 4mvc money -sadly I am not in a position to offer but I will continue to shop at the BEST Pet store in the WORLD!

    xoxox,
    Ted, Reach and Forrest

  • 2. kathy  |  February 18, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    Ted thanks so much for your support, as always! My main goal here is differentiation, but if we can have a little fun with it along the way AND get people thinking creatively about how to make positive change, GREAT! And as for the upcoming dog wash, I can’t WAIT for the first wet soapy dog to get loose and run laps around the dog food aisle!

  • […] 2009 Oy, it took us way longer than I anticipated to come up with a decision on the winners of $4 Million Idea Contest….did you read that post?  After being congratulated an embarrassing number of times for […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Fetch Portland Photo Gallery

Tweets

Past Posts

Archived Posts

Twitter Feed


