Wysong-Nestle Patent Battle

February 7, 2009 at 10:18 am 4 comments

According to Wysong, Wysong and Nestle are suing eachother over the right to use a manufacturing process that Wysong invented and has been using since the early 1980’s.  Wysong didn’t patent the process b/c patenting is a very costly process, and they couldn’t afford it.  Nestle acquired a patent in 1999, and is now trying to require anyone who uses this process to obtain a license from Nestle and pay back royalties for prior use of this process.  That’s from a Wysong press release.  I will be watching for updates.  Feel free to comment, and suggest links.

Entry filed under: pet foods. Tags: , , .

Wash-O-Rama If I had $4 Million Dollars….

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brad  |  February 7, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    Boycott all Nestle brands, including Purina, and write the company to let them know you are doing so until they drop this frivolous lawsuit. I am a pet owner and found Wysong products through my own extensive research on what is best to feed my two dogs. It is a shame that this apparently unethical corporate conglomerate is trying to extort money from competitors.

  • 2. Champion Cat Lady  |  February 10, 2009 at 3:53 am

    Thanks so much for getting the word out. Wysong has been feeding and caring for my pets for many years and I hate to think they might suffer because of N/P’s greed.

    One of my cats suffers from struvite crystals. The ingredients list on the Purina RX given to me by the vet starts out with “Meat by-products, liver, chicken, water sufficient for processing, poultry by-products, brewers rice, calcium gluconate, oat fiber, guar gum, sodium bisulfate” [a poison]. . . . The Wysong Rx (Struvatrol) I actually feed my cat starts out with “Beef, Beef Liver, Chicken, Chicken Liver, Ground Beef and Chicken Bone, Fish Oil . . . ” and continues with innumerable supplements and vitamins, all of which are supported by responsible clinical trials data easily available at the Wysong site. No roadkill, chicken eyebrows or diseased animals in Wysong foods!

    Nestle/Purina should be ashamed. I love their Breeze Litter System (the only product of theirs I buy) but I’m tossing it and going back to my old cat litter. I refuse to allow any more of my money to go to these muggers.

  • 3. Shelly Rohde  |  February 10, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    How awful this is, I agree that nestle/Purina should be ashamed. I will rally our troops!

  • 4. Nicole  |  February 10, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    I have been purchasing Wysong for my rescue cats and dogs (currently 49 cats and 2 dogs), as well as for ferals I feed for a little over 3 years. I have also recommended it to several people, and personally know of more than 80 pets that are fed Wysong foods. They have all had fantastic results. It’s difficult to find a brand of food that that many animals will eat, and none will get sick from, but Wysong is that brand. I have never seen a food make as much of a difference in the health, look, and attitude of an animal as Wysong has. I have seen kittens that the vet didn’t think would survive thrive on this food. Without the help of Wysong, it would be impossible for my family to have taken in as many animals as we have.

    I have created an online petition to support Wysong in their fight against Purina. Please sign it, and add your comments. [url=http://www.thepetitionsite.com/1/help-wysong]http://www.thepetitionsite.com/1/help-wysong[/url]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Fetch Portland Photo Gallery

image

Spencer's puppy wrinkles made us all swoon! #dogsofinstagram #puppylove #puppies #portland #maine #thefishandbone

At just 9 weeks old, Spencer fits under our shelves! He got cozy in a moose @fabdoginc sweater and we got cozy with puppy snuggles :heart_eyes: #dogsofinstagram #portland #maine #thefishandbone #puppylove #cozy #fabdog

More Photos

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Past Posts

Archived Posts

Twitter Feed


